Menu for the week of January 7 – January 11

I have always sat down on Friday evening or Saturday morning and gone over my week and prepared the menus I will cook for dinner.  This planning makes grocery shopping so much easier and makes the week run smoother.  I only plan meals for Monday – Friday as my husband enjoys BBQing and will take care of the weekend meals.  We shop at Costco (large warehouse store where you can buy in bulk) once a month for papergoods, coffee, meat, various canned goods, etc.  the rest is purchased at local stores like Sprouts and Trader Joes.  I try not to purchase processed foods and make many items – such as bread – from scratch.  So here is what I have on my Menu this week:

Monday: Chicken Fingers, skillet potatoes (recipe found on Frugal by Choice Cheap by Necessity), cucumber salad with yogurt dressing

Tuesday: Mexican Tortilla Soup, Quesadillas

Wednesday: (I have a work meeting to attend in the evening so will be cooking for the boys) Slow cooker sweet & sour meatballs, rice (made in the rice cooker)  This way I can prepare the meatballs in the crockpot and program my rice cooker and their dinner will be done when they get home.

Thursday: cabbage and noodles, grilled chicken sausage

Friday: Creamy lemon pasta, grilled chicken, green salad

So there you have my week.  A few of the recipes are new ones that I am trying from the books I picked up at the library.  I will try them and post the recipes if they are successful and if not – well I will tell you that as well.  Yesterday we did our Costco run and today I will head over to Sprouts for the remaining items that I need to purchase.  Trying to keep my cost down at the Grocery Store. On the blog Frugal by Choice Cheap by Necessity (can you tell I love this blog) she breaks out her cost of groceries for the week.  I will try to do that as well.  Have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

