Monday Musings: Housecleaning – Where do I start?

Well January 1 has come and gone and I am sure many of you have included getting organized and cleaning to your list of New Year’s resolutions.  I have tried many ways to keep on top of the housecleaning and laundry, in addition to working, and not having to spend the whole weekend cleaning the house and attacking Mt. Washmore (laundry piles).

I chose one day of the week, currently that day is Friday and I spot clean the main areas of the home. (www.Flylady.net  has a great method for this and for breaking your house into manageable zones)

Here is what I do on Friday:

Empty all trash

dust/swiffer the floors (I have hardwood floors and use the swiffer vac which is great!)

Mop the laundry room and bathroom floors

Shake out the throw rugs

clean the sink and toilets

Wipe down the shower doors

clean all mirrors (all our rooms have mirrored closets)

change sheets

change out the bathroom towels

sweep down the entry way

wipe down the front door and change decor if needed

During the week I have chores that I do daily – they are….

wipe down the kitchen countertops and cooktop (usually after dinner and dishes are done)

wipe down the bathroom countertops and sinks/swish the toilet with a little cleaner and wipe down the seat (I use the Clorox wipes for both of these items.)

sweep the kitchen floor and dining area of crumbs is necessary

Do a load of laundry if necessary (never do more than you can wash, dry, fold and put away right away)

Doing these things daily/weekly keeps me on top of most of the cleaning.  I have then made a list of items that need to be done once a month and things to be done twice a year.  In addition I have broken down the rooms in my home (9 including the 2 bathrooms) and have a list of items that need to be deep cleaned to make each room perfectly clean.  My plan is to tackle a room a month – that way if I only choose one or two of the items on the “room list” that gives me eight days (if you count Saturday and Sunday) or four days (if you choose to only do a weekend chore on one day and take the other day off).  My lists are not to intensive and should be easy to manage.

Stay tuned for next weeks Monday Musing for the once a month list and the twice a year list.  I recommend checking out the Flylady website as she also has a method to declutter your home.  Her system is a little to intense for me and I am an all or nothing type of gal so I was always feeling behind in her system….. so I have adapted my own.

Let me know your thoughts and also let me know if you have come up with a system that works for you!

Leave a Reply

