Slow Cooker Sweet & Sour Meatballs

Hello – once again I am bringing you a recipe from Chicken Soup for the Soul – Recipes for Busy Moms.  This book is full of wonderful kid friendly – Mom approved recipes and I am so glad I stumbled upon it.

Ingredients:

1 Jar (9 to 10 Ounces) sweet and sour sauce

1/4  cup packed light brown sugar

3 tablespoons soy sauce

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

2 1/2 pounds frozen meatballs

2 bell peppers (1 red and 1 green), chopped

1 can (20 ounces) pineapple chunks, drained

001

The meatballs are in the dish in the left of the photo.  I buy them in bulk at Costco so I measured out two pounds.  I was not home for dinner last night (had a work meeting) hence, the crockpot meal so that the boys would have a warm meal to eat with minimal fuss.  What I did not pay attention to was the fact that the meatballs were Italian style.  They ate it and my husband took leftovers to work for lunch – but the consensus was that Italian style meatballs with sweet and sour sauce was a bit weird.  Advice – buy plain meatballs for this recipe.

Place all ingredients into a four quart or larger crockpot/slow cooker; stir gently then cover with the lid.  Cook on low setting for 7 to 8 hours or on high setting for 4 to 5 hours, until done.  (I did the low for 8 hours)

002I then put white rice in my programable rice cooker and presto dinner ready on time!  These have got to be the two best inventions EVER for working, busy Moms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rice Cooker and Crockpot

Rice Cooker and Crockpot

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sweet & Sour Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Menu for the week of January 7 – January 11 | At Margareta's Haus

  2. smileycook

    I absolutely love rice cookers! I use it religiously at work all the time! I never used a slow cooker but your meatball recipe looks delicious! Now I think I need a slow cooker for sure 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      You MUST invest in a slow cooker. I use it all the time. I am going to make Lasagna in it this week. Stay tuned for the recipe. Also check out the website Crockin’ Girls.com. They even make cake in theirs. Let me know if you get one. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

