Hand Derma what????

For some time now I have been experiencing a little blistering on my hands and then these little blisters become hard and calloused and a bit yellowish (ewww!)  Recently the skin on the tips of my thumbs has become hard and calloused as well.  It has been VERY cold in Southern California so I was just assuming my skin had dried because of the cold and was using lotion frequently.

Today I finally broke down and went to the dermatologist.  He says that I have hand dermatitis.  Basically, I have to wash my hands with special soap, use special lotions, and he gave me two tubes of gunk – one is an ointment (the strongest form of Cortizone known to man and a hand cream.

I have to apply these items daily and need to use cotton gloves underneath rubber gloves when I do any cleaning.  This includes grabbing a dish rag to wipe down the counter tops in the kitchen.  Are they for real!!!!!!  I have to put two pairs of gloves on to wipe down a sink?????  Oh I can see this being a problem for me – YIKES!!!

According to the doctor this type of condition is common among nurses and child care providers who wash their hands frequently and use detergents or cleaning products.  I have never heard of this – have any of you?  Do any of you have this condition or know of someone who does? How are they dealing with it?  What works and what doesn’t?  I would love for you to share and will keep you posted as to how this progresses for me as well. .

Photo of Hand

Photo of Hand

5 thoughts on “Hand Derma what????

  1. smileycook

    I do not have this condition but even for me I frequently was my hands in the kitchen everyday (my hands are in everything as a chef). But one thing that saves me is everyday when I do the final cleaning in my kitchen I wear gloves for cleanup so my skin isn’t exposed to the chemicals. Also certain foods that you prepare and cook I wear gloves like fishes, chickens, the list goes on. I hope that these changes to how you clean and wash doesn’t make your life for the worst and I hope your condition changes for the better soon.

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Thanks for the tips. I did not know that about Chicken and Fish. I will definitely research this further!

      Like

      Reply
      1. smileycook

        Yep some people tend to be sensitive to certain food products and when their expose their skin gets irritated. You def should def look into it so you can help your skin. For me just moisturizing after work helps so much for my skin. It’s all about skin regimen 🙂

        Like

  2. Granny Maud's Girl

    I’ve had dermatitis on my hands, on and off, for as long as I can remember. It is a pain, but it is the best excuse to make your husband do the dishes or to hire someone to help you clean. 🙂 I find that it is worst when I do a lot of cooking (like over Christmas) as I frequently wash my hands and handle acidic foods like tomatoes (ouch) and lemons (ouch, ouch!).
    The trick is to manage it so it doesn’t flare up. When it does get bad, cortisone is the only solution. This week my doctor suggested coating my hands in olive oil every night before bed. (She agreed, when I baulked at cooking oil, that an unscented hand cream would also help.) Frequent hand-washing dries out the skin, so moisturising helps.

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Thank you so much! You are right – it really flared up last month (December) and my doctor did give me a medicated hand cream to use at night and a cortizone to use in the morning. I have been using the gloves – but I LOVE your idea of getting the hubby to do the dishes. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

