Kefir Water Soda

005

Kefir is a grain that I had only heard about as a yogurty, milky drink. It is a cultured, enzyme-rich food filled with friendly micro-organisms that help balance your “inner ecosystem.” It offers the probiotics that aide in digestion.  Recently, in one of my many visits to Frugal by Choice Cheap by Necessity blog I came across her method of making Kefir Water Soda.

 

I was so intrigued by this process and the idea of giving my son a “soda” that is healthy that I ordered the Kefir Starter Kit and the bottles (she references the locations to purchase these items in her blog post) and have been making the soda ever since.

Here is a photo of my grains ready to start the next batch.  I am waiting for the sugar water in the mason jar to reach room temperature before adding the kefir grains.

007Here is a photo of the 3 new bottles I just made and the juice I used in this batch.  The darker juices taste the best.  These will be ready to drink in 24-48 hours.  At which time my grains will be ready to start the next set of bottles.  I typically make 3 bottles of soda every 48 hours.

006It takes about 5 – 10 minutes to make the soda and it tastes delicious!  I recommend trying this process.  Let me know if you try it and what you think and also if you have any questions.  If you visit Sarah’s Blog to check the specifics of making Kefir Water Soda, let her know I sent you her way!

 

Leave a Reply

