How To Clean A Granite Composite Sink

I live in an area where the water is hard and calcium builds up and causes white rings/stains on my sink.  Since my sink is a dark grey granite composite these marks are very noticeable.  Here is what my sink looked like before the cleaning.

008I had tried everything even vinegar but that left a film.  I researched on the internet and when I found out the “secret” I was amazed that it could be that simple and inexpensive, not to mention without harsh chemicals.

Here is what I use to clean my sink.  Can you tell what the “secret” item is?

009It is not the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser, all though this is an amazing device, it is the baby oil!

So here is how I clean the sink:

Step 1 – clean the sink with Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  Make sure to get all of the stuck food items, etc. off and rinse the sink well.

011Step 2 – spray Windex on your faucet fixtures and whip them down with a clean cloth.  I use old washcloths as they are very absorbent and don’t leave fuzzes.  Once the fixtures are clean, use the same cloth to dry out the sinks.  Make sure they are very dry.

013Now you may think you are done, however, once the sink sits for a while those nasty white marks appear again.  So here is where the magic happens.

Step 3 – Pour a little baby oil on a clean dry cloth – about the size of a quarter.  Use a clean cloth – not the same one you used to dry your sink as water and oil don’t mix and you won’t get the same effect.  Rub the sink down with the baby oil rag.  Don’t be afraid to use a little elbow grease here.  I typically will wipe down the divider of the sink, then the sides of the left sink.  I then apply another quarter size of baby oil and wipe the sink bottom and the sides and sink bottom of the right sink.  That is all you need as you don’t want it to be to oily.  Here is the finished product:

015

 

My sink will usually stay this way for about 2 – 3 months.  Then I will go through this process again.  In between treatments, I will usually give my sink a wipe down with my dishtowel after the evening dishes have been cleaned up and put in the dishwasher.  This way my sink is dry and clean and I put out fresh dishtowels for the next day.

I hope you have found this information useful.  To clean my granite counter-tops I found this product at Target. I works wonders and it often on sale for a good price.

017

11 thoughts on “How To Clean A Granite Composite Sink

  1. Linda

    An oil based stainless steel cleaner simply sprayed onto a clean sink and then rubbed in with a dry dish towel is the simplest method I’ve found.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Patti

    I want to say thank you from the bottom of my heart. I loved my sink when I first got it then came the soap scum then I hated my sink. I have tried and bought everything. And this is so simple and safe. Again thank you again.

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      So glad it works for you. I have been very happy with this method. Hope you love your sink again!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Brenda Ashe

    Thank you so much for this tip Ive been battling this for years. Can’t wait to try this I thought about trying this before but didn’t have any proof that it would actually work without ruining my sink.

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Brenda it works great. The key is to make sure the sink is clean and dry before adding the baby oil. You will love the results!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Robin

    Thank you, I’ve been looking for months on her way to clean my sink. By the way you have great taste your granite countertop is the same as mine. LOL

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      I am so glad you found my post. I am still cleaning my sink this way and it looks great! I hope you enjoy your granite countertop. It sure is lovely – we both have EXCELLENT taste! 😊 I use the Method brand granite cleaner. Works great and no film.

      Like

      Reply
  5. Fathom

    That’s awesome! Thanks for the tip, I can’t wait to try it tomorrow! I also use the method cleaner on my counters, I can get a 2 pack, granite and a wood cleaner at boxed.com too! They work great and smell amazing! Thanks again!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

