Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup

Tonight’s menu consisted of Chicken Noodle Soup and homemade bread.  The bread was from an Artisan Bread Cookbook I had purchased some time ago, and was so simple and delicious   I promise to post the recipe in another post as I will be baking bread again real soon.

Now for the chicken soup.  Here is a photo of the basic ingredients that I used.

2013-02-26_05-44-45_590

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

2 cans of chicken stock/broth

2 ribs of celery chopped

1 carrot chopped (I used about 15 baby carrots and chopped them because that is what I happened to have on hand)

1/2 onion chopped

Soup noodles (I used the small star shaped noodles)

Spices to taste: salt, pepper, minced garlic, parsley

Directions:

Chop the onion, carrot and celery and put in the crockpot.  (I normally spray my crockpot with cooking spray for easier clean up, but in this case it is not necessary).

2013-02-26_05-50-28_373Next add the chicken broth and the chicken.  I normally chop the chicken up and put it in but mine was still a bit frozen so I just put it on top and cut it up later.

2013-02-26_05-51-36_767

Next I added the spices and the cover.  Cook on high for about 7-8 hours.

2013-02-26_05-53-45_793

During the last hour of cook time, I added the noodles. Since they were small they cooked rather quickly.  You don’t need much – maybe 1/2 cup of noodles.  Serve with warm, fresh  baked bread as I did or rolls.  

2013-02-26_17-14-41_482Excuse my 1/2 eaten slice of bread – I almost forgot to take a photo.  Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as we did.

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Chicken Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

