Italian Style Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Olives…Oh my!

sausage-and-peppers

This was on the menu earlier this week but I have not had a chance to sit at the computer and blog about it.  This is always a favorite at our Haus because it is easy to prepare and loaded with flavors.  If you have been following my blog for a while you know that my hubby and son have an aversion to tomato chunks, so I put a lot of my stewed tomatoes through the blender and this recipe is no different.  In addition, the tomatoes I used were grown by my hubby in his garden – yet he won’t eat them unless they are peeled, cooked, and no chunks… more for me I say!

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. olive oil

Sausage  sliced (I used the ones I purchased at Costco that come precooked 6 to a pack.  You can use any sausage you wish – chicken, Italian, etc)

1-2 bell peppers cut into strips

1 small yellow onion cut into strips (I had green onions on hand so I used those and blended them in with the tomatoes)

1 can stewed tomatoes – blended until smooth (I used 8oz of roma tomatoes that my hubby grew and peeled)

2 cloves of garlic minced

about 10 Kalamata olives

1 tsp Italian seasoning

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes – we like the heat

Salt and Pepper to taste

Heat the oil on medium heat in a skillet and add the sliced sausage.  Sauté until the sausage starts to brown – about 3 minutes.  My sausage was the precooked kind and not the raw ones to cut down on cooking time.  While the sausage is cooking, slice the onions and add to the pan continuing to stir frequently so as not to burn the onions.  After the onions start to wilt, add the peppers and continue to stir fry.

Since my family is not a big fan of tomato chunks, I put the stewed tomatoes, garlic and seasoning in the blender and combine until smooth.  I threw my green onions in here as well.  This sauce should be on the lighter side so don’t worry if it is a bit runnier than normal pasta sauce.

Turn the heat to low and add the sauce and the Kalamata olives to the skillet.  Cook on low for about 8 minutes to get the flavors to marry.

That is it!  Serve over your favorite pasta with a nice side salad and dinner is served.

Enjoy!!

Margareta

 

 

One thought on “Italian Style Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Olives…Oh my!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu For The Week of October 31 – November 4 | At Margareta's Haus

Leave a Reply

