Pecan Crusted Chicken

This too is a recipe from Pampered Chef.  I decided to make a nice big salad and add the chicken to this.  I added apples to my salad and it complimented the pecans rather well.  The kitchen smelled like pecan pie while I was cooking.  The only thing I might change is to chop the pecans a bit finer as I had a hard time keeping them on the chicken.

Ingredients: 

1 egg white

1 1/2 cups pecans – very finely chopped

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 lb boneless chicken breast cut into strips

1/4 cup vegetable oil

Lighlty beat the egg white and put on a plate so you can drudge your chicken.  Place the pecans on a second plate. Combine the spices and coat the chicken with them.  

Add the oil to the skillet and heat over medium low heat until shimmering, about 3 minutes.  Dip the chicken in the egg white and then coat with pecans.  Place the chicken in the skillet and cook for 2-3 minutes until golden brown.  Turn the chicken over and cook an additional 2-3 minutes or until centers are no longer pink and chicken is done.

You can serve as is with some fancy dipping sauces or on a salad like I did.

Recipe from Pampered Chef – 29 minutes to dinner cookbook 

Leave a comment