New Year, New You – Resolution Number 3

Greetings my lovelies!  How are your new habits coming along?  Are we still drinking enough water and incorporating movement into our days?  If not, then be kind to yourselves and be forgiving.  Start where you are and make better choices today than you did yesterday.

I have continued drinking water and am now to the point where I get thirsty and that is my reminder to stay hydrated.  If you need a nudge to remember hydration, then set a timer on your phone to remind you.  

The same goes for movement.  Set a reminder on your phone to get up and move around during your day.  Today is the start of Daylight Savings time for most of us which means it will stay light longer.  Go for more walks – enoy the outdoors!  I have been taking my hot yoga classes faithfully – usually 3 times a week – and catching walks with Hubby whenever I can.

So now I am ready to share my new habit with you – be mindful of what you eat!  Do not eat and watch TV or eat at your desk.  When you eat, only eat.  Pay attention to the flavors and how the food tastes.  Is it spicy?  Is it smooth?  Is it comfort food?  Really enjoy what you eat and pay attention.When we partake in other activities while we eat, we can quickly overeat as we are not paying attention to our body’s signals that we are satisfied and it is time to stop eating. 

Also notice how the food makes you feel.  Did it give you indegestion?  Then maybe the food was too spicy and you should avoid eating this item in the future. Were you hungry again a few hours later? Perhaps you need to incorporate more protein into your meals.  Pay attention to your body and its signals to you.  

Try, if you can, to make your noon meal your largest meal.  Your body has more time to digest a large midday meal.  Eating a large meal a few hours before going to bed means your body will store these calories longer. During sleep you do not burn as many calories as during waking hours where you are moving about more.  If you follow my blog then you know I cook alot.  My suggestion is to  cook dinner, eat a smaller portion, and then take the rest for lunch the next day for your larger midday meal.

I have incoporated this and am seeing results.  I feel better and I am naturally eating less as I pay attention to my body.  In addition, I am enjoying my meals more.  Try not to focus on weightloss here.  Just focus on eating healthier and mindfully. 

I hope you find this post helpful.  I would love to hear how you are doing.  Remember this is your journey – enjoy it!

Hugs to you all,

Margareta

2 thoughts on “New Year, New You – Resolution Number 3

    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      I am so glad you liked this post and am even more glad to hear that you eat together as a family. We do as well. This is so important and as you said helps us to connect as a family. Thank you for the comment and for visiting my Blog!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

