Happy Mother’s Day – the big Demelza Blanket Reveal

My passion for overlay crochet started with the Mandala Madness.  It blossomed as I crocheted the Peacock Tail Bag, but became an obsession with the Demelza CAL.  When the yarn kit for the Demelza CAL arrived I knew right away it would be created for my Mom.  Her favorite color has always been yellow and the color yellow in this blanket can be seen throughout.  I could hardly resist the temptation to give it to her, but I maintained patience and waited until Sunday.

She was so excited to open the box..

wp-1494891506770.jpg

She knew I had made the blanket for her and had seen some of the squares here and there.  I quit posting on the blog as the blanket started to take shape so as not to spoil the surprise.  I am glad I did as the look on her face was priceless.

We have been having some cooler weather here in So. Cal so I am hopeful she will be getting a bit of use from it now.  I love you Mom!

Margareta

13 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day – the big Demelza Blanket Reveal

    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Thanks Tracy- I have been resting off and on and the wrists are healing. I am working on a Sophie for my sister. Her birthday is in June. Then let’s CAL again!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Tami

    First of all – belated Happy Mother’s day to you!! Second – what a marvelous afghan – it’s absolutely gorgeous! I think that the next time I’m over for dinner I will bring my hook and some yarn and we will have a lovely cro-chat while we digest! 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Oh Tami that would be wonderful. My mom and I sit and crochet or knit together but I don’t really have any other friends that do. Happy Mother’s day to you as well! Making this blanket was so much fun. Seeing how much she loved it was icing on the cake!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. Gwen Garis

    I love Rose I Can jyst imagine her joy and excitement. You ateare such a good daughter. Hope today yippy had a wonderful mother’s day.

    Love ya Gwen

    Like

    Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Thanks Gwen! Hope you had a nice mothers day as well! Hope you are healing nicely from your surgery.

      Like

      Reply
    1. At Margareta's Haus Post author

      Thanks Kelley – she really did love it. The blanket was actually crocheted in different squares and then sewn together. You could look at it as many small projects. You could do a beach blanket…you are so talented!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Kelley

        Awww. As are you. I actually really wanted to do a beach blanket. What type of yarn would you recommend though? How do you deal with weaving in ends? Lol 😂

        Like

      2. At Margareta's Haus Post author

        So on the ends – I try to crochet over them and that weaves them in. Or I weave them in as I go along otherwise you end up with so many at the end. Since the beach blanket would need to be washed frequently I would suggest a cotton blend of some sort. 100% cotton may shrink a bit and loose shape with frequent washing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment